2020 Election Results, Keokuk County Iowa


November 3, 2020 was the General Election in the United States. Most attention was on the Presidential and Federal races, but there were also thousands of state and local races going on at the same time.

The Keokuk County Auditor has provided unofficial results, which will be certified in the next week. A short summary is provided below.

US Senate

Republican hold. Joni Ernst keeps her seat, beating Theresa Greenfield.

US Congress

  • 1st District: Republican gain. Ashley Hinson beat incumbent Abby Finkenauer.
  • 2nd District: This is a toss-up. Marinette Miller-Meeks is neck and neck with Rita Hart although there are a lot of absentee ballots to be counted as of afternoon November 4.
  • 3rd District: Democratic hold. Cindy Axne beat challenger David Young.
  • 4th District: Republican hold. Randy Feenstra, who replaced Steve King on the Republican ticket, beat JD Scholten.

Iowa House

Republican hold. Jarad Klein beat Democrat Kimberly Davis.

Iowa Senate

The Iowa Senate Seat currently held by Kevin Kinney was not up for reelection.

County Supervisors

Republican gain. Democrat Mick Berg, who sits on the board of the Sigourney Area Development Corp (as an ex-oficio) was unseated by Republican Fred Snakenberg, by about 1100 votes (21.72%).

This one was a surprise! But should not have unexpected with the other results of the night.

Keokuk County Hospital Board Trustee

Cheryl Monroe and Jerlyn M. Bowers both won seats with a little more than 39% of the vote each. James Eschenbrenner was left emptyhanded in this non-partisan race.

Other Races

Soil and Water Conservation District Commissioner, County Agricultural Extension Council, and the various judgeships were all non-competitive since there was an overwhelming “yes” vote on the Judges and the other positions had the same number of candidates as positions.

Constitutional Convention

As in the rest of the state, the ballot measure for a constitutional convention was voted down. In Keokuk County it was 79% to 21%.

One thought on “2020 Election Results, Keokuk County Iowa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.